top of page

For Parents

Dyslexia: The first 100 Days

Washington Dyslexia Resource Guide

IDA Dyslexia Handbook: What Every Family Should Know

International Dyslexia Association

IDA fact sheets

Dyslexia Help at the University of Michigan

Yale Center for Dyslexia and Creativity

Dyslexia Training Institute

 

Bright Solutions for Dyslexia

Reading Rockets Top 10 Resources on Dyslexia

Reading Rockets

National Center for Learning Disabilities

Understood

Wright’s Law

Learning Ally

Washington State Branch of the IDA

Learn more about the importance of early intervention AND identification for students at-risk for dyslexia:

Act Early, from the Yale Center for Dyslexia and Creativity  https://dyslexia.yale.edu/resources/parents/what-parents-can-do/suspect-dyslexia-act-early/


Matthews Effect: https://www.nifdi.org/news-latest-2/blog-hempenstall/399-what-are-these-matthew-effects


Third Grade Wall: https://www.dyslexicadvantage.org/dyslexia-and-the-3rd-grade-wall/


Washington State’s Literacy Screening and Intervention Law: https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=28A.320.260


Outcomes better when delivered in first and second grade: https://improvingliteracy.org/ask-an-expert/why-early-intervention-so-important-kids-dyslexia


IDA FAQs: https://dyslexiaida.org/frequently-asked-questions-2/


IDA Fact Sheet on Universal Screening: https://dyslexiaida.org/universal-screening-k-2-reading/


How instruction changes brain circuitry with struggling readers: https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2018/06/180614213556.htm

Family History, Genetics, and Dyslexia

• IDA Fact Sheet on K-2 Universal Screening https://dyslexiaida.org/universal-screening-k-2-reading/

• Harvard Graduate School of Education’s Gaab Lab, Dyslexia Myths https://www.gaablab.com/dyslexia-myths

• It’s a Myth That Young Children Cannot Be Screened for Dyslexia! https://dyslexiaida.org/its-a-myth-that-young-children-cannot-be-screened-for-dyslexia/

• Is Dyslexia Genetic? https://www.understood.org/articles/en/is-dyslexia-genetic

• Dyslexia and the Brain https://dyslexiaida.org/dyslexia-and-the-brain/

• Ask a Geneticist https://genetics.thetech.org/ask-a-geneticist/dyslexia-genetic

• Is Dyslexia Genetic? https://news.yale.edu/2013/06/12/yale-researchers-unravel-genetics-dyslexia-and-language-impairment

• Reading Difficulties and Family History https://www.readingrockets.org/article/reading-difficulties-and-family-history

• Genetics of Dyslexia https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2597981/

• Studies about genetics and dyslexia: (Fischer and Francks 2006; Lyytinen and Ahonen 2004), (Wolff & Melngalailis, 1994), (Snow, Burns, and Griffin 1998), (Snowling and Melby-Lervåg 2016), (Scarborough 1989), (Paradis, Emmerzael, and Duncan 2010), and (Kalashnikova, M., Goswami, U., & Burnham, D.).

Decoding Dyslexia WA does not endorse, represent, or have a legal connection with these resources. They are resources are included to be helpful to those seeking more information.

bottom of page